Mandated Driving Programs

Kirkwood Community College offers a variety of classes to meet state requirements for taking an educational program and substituting it for 48 hours in jail for individuals arrested for drinking and driving.

View Classes & Register

Over 18 Drinking Driver Programs

We offer two separate courses that are required for the state of Iowa for those persons 18 years of age or older. The first is the 12-Hour OWI Program. 

This is a risk reduction program for alcohol and drugs. It is based on:

  • Objective research from many fields and on respect for the thousands of people who take this program each year. It does not moralize or dictate.
  • The belief that people have good reasons for their beliefs and behaviors, and that with new information, support and a little time, they are willing to explore new beliefs, change behaviors and make a different choice.

This program is an educational program to help people make the necessary changes to reduce risk for future alcohol and drug-related problems.

This class meets Iowa Department of Education and Iowa Department of Transportation requirements under Iowa law 321J.2 and 321J.17, subsection 2. The class is open to anyone wishing to better understand their problem. Register now!

What is the cost of the program?
Please view the current list of classes and tuition. Absolutely no payments are accepted at the program itself.

What forms of payment do you accept?
Learners can pay for their over 18 program by credit card at time of registration, either online or via the phone; cashier check payable to Kirkwood Community College, sent in with registration; or money order payable to Kirkwood Community College, sent in with registration.

Who do I make the money order/cashier check out to?
All cashier checks/money orders can be made out directly to Kirkwood Community College.

Where is the program located?
The over 18 12-Hour program is located at all the Kirkwood Campuses:

Cedar Rapids Main Campus - Transportation & Safety Range
6301 Kirkwood Blvd SW
Cedar Rapids, IA  52404
Room 101

Iowa City Credit Center
1816 Lower Muscatine Road
Iowa City, IA  52240
Room 204

Vinton County Center
111 W 3rd Street
Vinton, IA  52349 
Room 101

Monticello County Center
818 W 1st Street
Monticello, IA  52310
Room 318 

Tipton County Center
1410 Cedar Street
Tipton, IA  52772
Room 303

Washington County Center
111 Westview
Washington, IA  52353
North Building

Williamsburg County Center
200 West Street
Williamsburg, IA  52361

What are the times of the program?
Friday 6 – 10 p.m. and Saturday 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. at all locations. Cedar Rapids does have a 3 Thursday program which is usually the first 3 Thursdays of January, March, May, July, September, and November from 6 – 10 p.m.

Do we recieve breaks?
You will receive breaks at the facilitators discretion. They are usually about every 1 1/2 hours on average. 

What do we do for lunch on Saturdays?
You will receive at least a 30-minute break for lunch on Saturday for the Friday/Saturday classes. Whether you bring your own lunch or bring some money to pool and order pizza in is at the discretion of the facilitator. 

The Iowa 48-hour OWI class is a lockdown weekend program that can be take in place of serving jail time. This course includes all of the course content included in the 12-hour course. 

Before You Register

  • It is your responsibility to take the program by your deadline. Kirkwood does not know your specific requirements.
  • We do require payment at the time of registration. To register, the participant will need to call 319-398-1022 or 1-800-332-8833.
  • Please have ready your court case number and payment (credit card or debit card). If you do not have a credit card or debit card you will need to come to our office to register with a cashier’s check or money order.
  • The registration office is located in the Kirkwood Center for Lifelong Learning, 6301 Kirkwood Blvd. SW, Cedar Rapids. This is located next to our Recreation Center.

These classes fill up quickly, so be sure to register as far in advance as possible to ensure your spot in the class.

What is the cost of the program?
Please go to www.kirkwood.edu/ce to view a list of the classes and tuition.

What forms of payment do you accept?
Learners can pay for their OWI Weekend Program by credit card via phone call or online registration; cashier check payable to Kirkwood Community College with walk-in registration; or money order payable to Kirkwood Community College with walk-in registration.

Who do I make the money order/cashier check out to?
All cashier checks/money orders can be made out directly to Kirkwood Community College.

Where is the program located?
The OWI Program is located in Coralville at Heartland Inn (behind Old Chicago Restuarant).

What are the phone numbers of the hotel in case of emergencies?
Heartland Inn: 319-351-8132.

What are the times of the program?
Student check-in to the course on Friday between 4:30 and 5:30 p.m. Duration of the program is from Friday at 6 p.m. to Sunday at 6 p.m.

Do we receive breaks?
You will receive breaks at the facilitator’s discretion. They are usually about every 1.5 hours on average. You will receive a lunch break on Saturday and Sunday from 12 to 1 p.m. and a dinner break on Saturday from 5 to 6 p.m.

Are we allowed to smoke?
There is no smoking or chewing tobacco allowed in the room during class. You will receive a smoke break at the facilitator’s discretion. Short breaks are usually given every 1-1/2 hours on average.

Are meals provided?
Kirkwood supplies your meals for the OWI Weekend Program. Kirkwood will cater a box lunch on Friday night and hot meals will be catered on Saturday and Sunday for lunch and Saturday for dinner. The hotel provides a breakfast for both Saturday and Sunday.

Are we allowed visitors?
Visitors are not allowed during the duration of the 48-hour program.

Will I have a roommate?
All students will be assigned their own rooms for the program. Rooms will not be shared by students.

Can I bring my cellphone?
No. If you bring a cellphone, it will be confiscated until Sunday at 6 p.m.

Will I have to pass a PBT (Preliminary Breath Test)?
Yes. It is a requirement in order to enter the program. Coralville Police Department will issue a PBT upon your arrival. If the participant registers any alcohol amount, they will forfeit their seat for the weekend and have to re-register and pay the reschedule fee of $40.00.


Important Note

Kirkwood does not have access to court records, therefore we do not know which program you are required to attend.

It is your responsibility to take the correct program. If you are not sure which one to take, please contact your attorney or the clerk of court office in the county of your arrest.

If the wrong class is taken, it will be the student's responsibility to attend the correct class. Kirkwood does not give credit for time nor money if the wrong class is attended.


More Questions?

Reach out to us via the contact information below.
Kirkwood Continuing Education
319-398-1022
contactce@kirkwood.edu