Meet Our Counselors

[[Element: ]]

Always Here to Help!

Our counselors can see students for in-person or virtual sessions during normal business hours (Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.). Learn more about our team below and email to setup an appointment.

Mary Gesing, M.A., LMHC
Mary Gesing, M.A., LMHC
Title: Counselor
Email: mary.gesing@kirkwood.edu 
Office: 2098 Cedar Hall
Education: Master of Arts in student development and counseling with an emphasis in higher education; University of Iowa, Advanced certification in clinical mental health counseling
Chandran Lapel – M.S., LMHC
Title: Counselor
Email: chandran.lapel@kirkwood.edu 
Office: 2098 Cedar Hall
Education: Master of Science in Mental Health Counseling; Nova Southeastern University
Lindsay Miles – M.S.W., LISW
Title: Counselor – Multicultural Focus
Email: lindsay.miles@kirkwood.edu 
Office: 2098 Cedar Hall
Education: Master of Social Work; St. Ambrose University
Peggy Somerville – M.S.W., LMSW
Title: Counselor
Email: peggy.somerville@kirkwood.edu 
Office: 2098 Cedar Hall
Education: Master of Social Work; St. Ambrose University
Heidi Vogel, M.A., LMHC
Heidi Vogel, M.A., LMHC
Title: Internship Coordinator / Counselor
Email: heidi.vogel@kirkwood.edu 
Office: 2098 Cedar Hall
Education: Master of Arts in clinical psychology; University of Central Florida
Angie Ziesman Weiler, M.A., LMHC, NCC, CADC
Angie Ziesman Weiler, M.A., LMHC, NCC, CADC
Title: Counselor
Email: angie.ziesmanweiler@kirkwood.edu 
Office: 2098 Cedar Hall
Education: Master of Arts in mental health counseling; University of Northern Iowa
Karol White, M.S.W., LISW
Karol White, M.S.W., LISW
Title: Counseling Services Manager
Email: karol.white@kirkwood.edu 
Office: 2098 Cedar Hall
Education: Master of Social Work with micro-practice focus; University of Northern Iowa


Counseling Services

Cedar Rapids Main Campus
2098 Cedar Hall
319-398-5540

 

Iowa City Campus
OneStop
319-887-3658