Celebration of Success

Celebration of Success

Celebration of Success is the Kirkwood Foundation’s signature event with prestigious recipients, significant attendance, and a multicourse dinner prepared by the college’s Culinary Arts department.

Presented in partnership with the Alumni Leadership Council, the awards banquet recognizes the college's most valuable business partners, accomplished alums, and leaders in higher education.


2024 Nominations now open!

Do you know Kirkwood alumni who have achieved greatness in their field or community?

To be considered for the Kirkwood Distinguished Alumni Award, nominees must have participated in college credit coursework at Kirkwood Community College, demonstrated success within their chosen career or field of expertise, and provided significant community-based service.

We are also seeking nominations for the President's and Trustees' awards, recognizing a business and a faculty or staff member who represents extraordinary support and leadership in higher education.

Past recipients are not eligible.

Submit a Nomination

2023 Honorees:

President's Award:
Hills Bank

Trustees' Award:
Mark Abel, Kirkwood Community College

Distinguished Alumni Award:
Teri Gibson, TrueNorth Companies

Distinguished Alumni Award:
Tawnya Salsbery, Mercy Medical Center

Distinguished Alumni Award:
Tamara Schlamp, Marion Chamber of Commerce

Distinguished Young Alumni Award:
Lindy Sherman, PRECISIONscientia

Kirkwood Alumni & Friends
6301 Kirkwood Blvd. SW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52404