Academic Affairs

We Are Here For You!

The Academic Affairs division consists of dedicated deans, directors, department coordinators, faculty, and support staff responsible for and committed to excellence in learning and teaching.


Academic Calendar

See class start and end dates, holiday breaks, and other important key points throughout the semester on the academic calendars below.

Academic Calendar 2020 – ’21 Academic Calendar 2021 – ’22

Academic Calendar 2022 – ’23 Academic Calendar 2023 – ’24

Other helpful resources related to academic instruction at Kirkwood:


Dean’s List

At the end of every term, Academic Affairs compiles the Dean’s List. To qualify, a student must have completed 12 credit hours of graded coursework and achieved a grade point average of 3.3 or higher. A minimum of six graded credit hours must be earned in the term of the award.

Students named to the Dean’s List will receive a congratulatory postcard, their name will be sent to the newspaper associated with their preferred address, and a notation will be added to their transcript at the end of every term they are on the Dean’s List.


Outstanding Student Reception

Every April, Academic Affairs hosts an Outstanding Student Reception. The student nominees are selected by the faculty members based on exceptional academic performance, completion of at least half of their coursework toward a degree, enrollment during the current fall and/or spring terms of the award, and their qualities of character and leadership.

The awards ceremony is open to award winners and their family members as well as faculty from all divisions. Graduating students are encouraged to wear their award medallion to Commencement in recognition of this achievement.


Meet Our Staff

Jennifer Bradley
Vice President, Academic Affairs
319-398-5537
jennifer.bradley@kirkwood.edu
3067 Cedar Hall

Brooke Strahn-Koller
Associate Vice President, Liberal Arts
319-398-4969
brooke.strahn-koller@kirkwood.edu
3067 Cedar Hall

Deborah Jones
Executive Assistant
319-398-5509
deborah.jones@kirkwood.edu
3067 Cedar Hall

Marvelene Foreman
Part-time Department Assistant
319-398-5677
mforema@kirkwood.edu
3067 Cedar Hall

Lorna Trachta
Part-time Department Assistant
319-398-4067
lorna.trachta@kirkwood.edu
3067 (308) Cedar Hall

Colette Atkins
Associate Vice President, Career and Technical
319-398-5431
colette.atkins@kirkwood.edu
3067 Cedar Hall

Stephanie Ferguson
Executive Assistant
319-398-5511
stephanie.ferguson@kirkwood.edu
3067 Cedar Hall

David Keller
Curriculum Assessment Specialist
319-398-5597
david.keller@kirkwood.edu
124 Jones Hall

Ron Borel
Pathway Navigator
319-398-5608
ron.borel@kirkwood.edu
2164 Linn Hall

Tonya Saddoris
Pathway Navigator
319-398-4513
tonya.saddoris@kirkwood.edu
2164 Linn Hall

Purpose Statement: We inspire and support learning.