Agriculture Sciences

Two Years, Great Careers!

The largest two-year agriculture department in the nation!*

Kirkwood agricultural programs provide students with exceptional hands-on learning experiences.

Areas of emphasis include animal and crop production, wildlife management, horticulture, small animal health, agriculture business, precision farming, and diesel technology.

*Based on number of graduates.

Agriculture Sciences Programs:

Available Program Conferences

Program conferences are a great way for you to learn specific information about the program you selected and all special requirements, such as tool sets, time commitments and academic expectations. If you have not already done so, apply for the program online and complete a placement test. ACT or Accuplacer/ALEKS scores are accepted. Your program coordinator will use the test scores to determine your academic starting point.

Click the link to your program of interest below to register for a program conference. 

Agriculture — 319-398-5609

Animal Health — 319-398-5609

Diesel Technology — 319-398-5609

Horticulture — 319-398-5441

Agriculture Sciences Facilities

Washington Hall contains a variety of laboratories and classrooms related to diesel mechanics, GPS/GIS technologies, applied chemistry, ag business, and commercial wine making.

Programs of study in Washington Hall:

  • Agricultural GPS/GIS
  • Agriculture Business
  • Agriculture Production Management
  • Diesel Ag Technology
  • Diesel Truck Technology

Students in Golf Course and Athletic Turfgrass Management, Landscape Maintenance, Landscape, Nursery and Garden Center Management, and Parks and Natural Resources gain practical experience in the Horticulture building that includes:

  • 8,000 square foot greenhouse divided into six separately controlled compartments
  • 30-station computer lab
  • Outdoor display gardens

Students in the Veterinary Technician, Veterinary Assisting, and Pet Grooming programs gain hands-on experience in the labs of Animal health. This building is a joint partnership with Diamond V Mills. Inside Animal Health you will find the following features:

  • Pet grooming lab
  • Animal surgical suite
  • Procedure labs
  • Kennel

To meet the needs of a growing horse industry, Kirkwood has added a new equestrian center to its campus. Explore more of the Iowa Equestrian Center and its facilities.

The center offers:

  • 100' x 200' indoor show arena with 240 seats
  • 130' x 300' lighted outdoor arena
  • 27' stall stable with 2 tack rooms, a stock veterinarian and farrier area, wash racks, lockers, and storage areas for machinery, hay, grain and bedding
  • Air-conditioned concession area
  • Modern classrooms
  • Parking for 200 vehicles

Agriculture Sciences Administration and Staff

Scott Ermer
Dean
319-398-7670
Scott.Ermer@kirkwood.edu

Ashley Moeller
Associate Dean
319-398-7635
ashley.moeller@kirkwood.edu

Holly Feldmann
Department Coordinator
319-398-4952
holly.feldmann@kirkwood.edu

Sue Robinson
Department Assistant
319-398-5441
Sue.Robinson@kirkwood.edu

Kathy Visser
Department Assistant
319-398-5609
Kathy.Visser@kirkwood.edu

Agriculture Business, Agriculture Production, and Agriculture Geospatial

Rhonda Clough
Professor
319-398-5899 x5132
Rhonda.Clough@kirkwood.edu

David Harper, PhD
Assistant Professor
319-398-5899 x4244
david.harper@kirkwood.edu

Tyler Krug
Instructor
319-398-5524
tyler.krug@kirkwood.edu

Terry Chapman
Professor
319-398-5568
Terry.Chapman@kirkwood.edu

Josh Henik
Assistant Professor
319-398-4901
josh.henik@kirkwood.edu

James Jordan
Assistant Professor 
319-398-5458
James.Jordan@kirkwood.edu

Rich Rourke
Associate Professor
319-398-4900
Richard.Rourke@kirkwood.edu

Animal Health Technology (Pet Grooming, Veterinary Assistant, and Veterinary Technician)

Randy Ackman, D.V.M.
Professor
319-398-5899 x5922
Randy.Ackman@kirkwood.edu

Becky Bean-Rask, RVT
319-398-5899 ext. 4027
becky.bean-rask@kirkwood.edu

Erin Dahlstrom, RVT
Instructor/Program Coordinator
319-398-4978
erin.dahlstrom@kirkwood.edu

Arlin W. Karsten, D.V.M.
Professor
319-398-4979
Arlin.Karsten@kirkwood.edu

Donna McAllister, RVT
Vet Technician
319-398-5899 ext. 4027
donna.mcallister@kirkwood.edu

Kristi Murdock, RVT
Associate Professor / Program Director
319-398-5899 ext. 4227
kristi.murdock@kirkwood.edu

Diesel Technologies

Scott Anderson
Professor
319-398-5899 x1084
Scott.Anderson@kirkwood.edu

Doug Carlson
Instructor
319-398-4967
doug.carlson@kirkwood.edu

Eric Conklin
Assistant Professor
319-398-5899 x5759
Eric.Conklin@kirkwood.edu

Landscape Horticulture Studies and Golf Course and Athletic Turfgrass Management

Shawna Moss
Professor
319-398-5899 x5136
Shawna.Moss@kirkwood.edu

Bob Smith
Instructor
319-398-5899 x5127
bob.smith@kirkwood.edu

Michael Burkle
Associate Professor
319-398-5899 x5141
Michael.Burkle@kirkwood.edu

Parks and Natural Resources

Ken Carroll
Professor
319-398-5899 x5130
Ken.Carroll@kirkwood.edu

Jerry Reisinger
Associate Professor
319-398-5899 x4319
Jerry.Reisinger@kirkwood.edu

Codie LaGrange
Technician
319-398-5140
codie.legrange@kirkwood.edu

Greenhouse

Hannah Dunlap
Greenhouse and Horticulture Lab Coordinator
319-398-5899 x5100
hannah.dunlap@kirkwood.edu


Department of Agricultural Sciences
Phone: 319-398-5609
Fax: 319-398-5611
agsciences@kirkwood.edu