Link to Kirkwood Community College


FACULTY AND STAFF
Nursing, LPN/RN

 

DEAN OF NURSING
Kathryn Dolter, RN, PhD
319-398-5630
319-398-5563
kathy.dolter@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172C

DEPARTMENT COORDINATOR

Lauri Hughes, MBA
319-398-5613
319-398-5563
lauri.hughes@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172D

M.B.A. - University of Iowa
B.S. in Business Administration – Mount Mercy University
A.A.S. in Information Systems Management – Kirkwood Community College
 
Lauri joined Kirkwood in 2000 as the department coordinator in Industrial Technologies. She then worked in Arts & Humanities, Academic Affairs and in Kirkwood’s Center for Excellence in Learning & Teaching (KCELT). She is passionate about learner success and strives to make a positive impact on others. She teaches College 101 each fall and often teaches Continuing Education courses about social and emotional intelligence.

Lauri serves as the treasurer of the Iowa Health Educators Association (IHEA); the treasurer of Kirkwood Keynotes Toastmasters International; and as president of the North American Council for Staff, Program and Organizational Development. Her research is in course design/redesign work for greater student success, and social and emotional intelligence. She believes in the mission of the community college and is here to serve others!


 CLINICAL COORDINATOR

Trisha Swartzendruber, MSN, RN
319-398-4992
319-398-5563
trisha.swartzendruber@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172M


COMPLIANCE COORDINATOR

Yvonne Sippy, BA
319-398-7746
yvonne.sippy@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172G

B.A. - Iowa State University.

Yvonne has five children, one graduated and four still in college so she understands the balance between departmental, student and parent perspective! Yvonne works with Nursing students, Faculty and Adjunct faculty to maintain all credentialing and compliance requirements necessary for program and clinical participation in area medical facilities. Yvonne enjoys any activity that brings her family together.


DEPARTMENT ASSISTANTS
 

René Morris
319-398-5563
rene.morris@kirkwood.edu 
Linn Hall 2172

   

 

April Smith
319-398-4989
april.smith@kirkwood.edu  
Linn Hall 2172

 
FACULTY MEMBERS
Nicole Alsaker, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 4434
319-398-5563
nicole.alsaker@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172H
   
Debra Forbes, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 5332
319-398-5563
debra.forbes@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172J


R.N. - Iowa Methodist School of Nursing, Diploma

B.S.N. - University of Iowa

M.S.N - University of Iowa

Deb enjoys playing piano, reading and spending time with her grandkids.

   
Brianne Hildebrandt, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 4017
319-398-5563
brianne.hildebrandt@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172L
   
  Nicoleta Nica, MSN, BSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 4343
319-398-5563
nicoleta.nica@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172P
   
Emily Peters, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 4086
319-398-5563
emily.peters@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172K

B.S.N., St. Ambrose University
M.S.N., Mt. Mercy University
Emily is part of the Kirkwood Student Nursing Association, KSNA.  She has worked at the UIHC Neonatal Intensive Care Unit since December of 2004 and picks up hours frequently.   She finds it very rewarding to help a child heal and to watch the child be able to go home and enjoy their life.  She enjoys teaching at Kirkwood and watching the students grow their nursing skills.   In her free time, Emily relaxes by reading, quilting, doing archery, and spending time with family. 
   

 

Tammy Pickart, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 7127
319-398-5563
tammy.pickart@kirkwood.edu  
Linn Hall 2172G
   
Jessica Rozek, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 4036
319-398-5563
jessica.rozek@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172G

M.S.N. with specialization in Nurse Educator - Walden University, 2015

Bachelor of Science in Nursing-Mount Mercy University, 1999 
Jessica currently teaches Foundations of Nursing 1 lecture, lab, simulation, and clinical. Jessica began teaching adjunct at Kirkwood Community College in 2009, and started as full-time faculty in 2013. Her abundant years of clinical experience include Neurology, Oncology, Surgical, Medical, Pulmonary, Skilled, Home IV Infusion, and Hospice.  Jessica appreciates the multitude of both challenges and rewards encountered while working as a nurse. As a nurse educator, she can share her love for nursing to inspire students both academically and personally.  Jessica is the facilitator of the Nursing Department Lab Committee and serves as the Lab Coordinator.  Jessica lives in Newhall with her two boys who are very active in soccer, football, and little league. She also enjoys reading, antiquing, card-making, and spending time outdoors with her family.

   
Amy Schultes, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 7127
319-398-5563
amy.schultes@kirkwood.edu   
Linn Hall 2172J
   
Laurie Simmons, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 5966
319-398-5563
laurie.simmons@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172G


Ph.D. Nursing Education - Capella University (in progress)
M.S.N. with specialization in Nursing Education - Walden University

B.S.N. - Mt. Mercy University

A.D.N. - Kirkwood Community College

Laurie enjoys fishing, being outdoors and spending time with her grandkids.

   
  Lisa Stiles, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 4351
319-398-5563
lisa.stiles@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172E
   

Jenny Storer, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 5331
319-398-5563
jennifer.storer@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172K

B.A.N. - Luther College
M.S.N. with a specialization in education - Walden University

Jenny Storer joined Kirkwood in 2006 and is an Associate Professor of Nursing. She teaches in the day and evening weekend program in courses focusing on obstetric and pediatric nursing. Currently, Jenny is teaching Nursing Care of the Growing Family and Advanced Concept in Obstetrics and Pediatrics. Her clinical expertise is in labor and delivery, postpartum, NICU, and gynecology. She has been a leader in simulation development and implementation at Kirkwood since 2006.

   
Shalome Tonelli, PhD, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 4088
319-398-5563
shalome.tonelli@kirkwood.edu 
Linn Hall 2172H
   

Michelle Vore, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 4035
319-398-5563
michelle.vore@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172L

   
Kim Woods, MSN, RN
319-398-5899 ext. 4532
319-398-5563
kim.woods@kirkwood.edu
Linn Hall 2172P