Honors Program Committee Mission Statement
To promote original research, creativity, independent thinking, problem solving, innovative applications and academic excellence by providing students an opportunity to do individual projects with faculty members or to take classes with other honors students.

Committee Responsibilities

  • To oversee and develop Kirkwood Community College's Honors Program.
  • To encourage faculty and student participation in each committee member's respective department.
  • To communicate developments in the Honors Program throughout the college.
  • To administer Kirkwood's annual Honors Project Competition.
Peter Jauhiainen Chair 2018
Jennifer Bradley Dean, Arts and Humanities in perpetuity
David Bullwinkle Arts and Humanities 2019
Jennifer Meehan Brennom Distant Learning 2019
Fred Ochs Math/Science 2019
Robinson Yost Social Science/Career Option 2019
Scott Samuelson Iowa City 2018
Mel Cerveny Allied Health 2018
Steve Wolcott English 2018


Terms of Service
Committee members - Two years (renewable)
Honors chair - Three years (renewable)