Link to Kirkwood Community College

Kirkwood Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission NCA. The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation and one of two Commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), which was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditation agencies in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits, and thereby grants membership in the Commission and in the North Central Association, to degree-granting educational institutions in the North Central region: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Kirkwood embraces the philosophy, principles, and practices of the Higher Learning Commission’s, Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP). Since 2006, the College has participated in this form of continuous improvement accreditation, integrating its prior Kirkwood Quality Improvement Program (KQIP). Developed by the HLC, this approach informs and sustains the College’s self-assessment by placing strong emphasis upon performance data and progress evidence. Thus, Kirkwood’s strategic and operational improvements are systematically aligned and integrated into the accreditation self-assessment process per an eight year cycle.

Admission to AQIP
Feb. 2006
Dec. 2012
Strategy Forum
Mar. 2007; Feb. 2011
April 2015; 2016-17
Nov. 2013/Annual Update
Mar. 2014
Sept. 2013
Sept. 2012
Off-Site Accreditation
June 2010
Iowa Dept of Ed Interim Visit Nov. 2014 FY2020

Per Iowa Code, Kirkwood is also accredited by the Iowa Department of Education. An interim evaluation Iowa accreditation visit is scheduled for FY2015 with a full comprehensive evaluation in FY2020.

To obtain the College's accreditation certificate click the image below. 

Updated 1/9/15:IEIRjs

Higher Learning Commission Mark of Affiliation